Unconditional love

I had the chance to talk to the wife about her son. When the nurses and doctors were reviving her child, she said, she was talking to her son to fight, to not give up. If he’s thinking that she made too many sacrifices for him, don’t worry, she said, she will not get tired of taking care of him. She will take care of him all of her life. The child’s heart beat on the monitor were faintly showing signs of improvement.

The husband, on the other hand, while seeing how badly their son looks, fighting for his life, realized that it’s time to let him go. He talked to his son, saying, “son, if you want to go, just go. I know you’ve been fighting for us. I know how tired you are. You need to rest. Mama and I will be okay.” The monitor were showing deterioration, then some faint improvement, highs and lows, as if the child cannot decide whether to go or not, to leave his parents who devoted their life for him, or to finally give them the life they deserve.

Finally, the child let go. The monitor showed the end of life. The couple hugged their son like there’s no tomorrow. They’ve never known life without their son.

7 years, and now they feel like nothing is left. I was wiping my tears when the wife was telling me all this. I may have not known Gabby that long, but I can feel the love between the family. He may not be able to tell his parents how thankful he is for the unconditional love they gave him despite his illness, but I know that wherever he is right now, he is watching over them like an angel.

Leave a Reply

