The Ova

I’m actually contemplating on whether I should write this down as part of my planned pregnancy journal. Maybe it will be too graphic like I was writing a Fifty Shades kind of thing. But what the heck.

Last Saturday was my OB appointment. Luckily, my husband was able to accompany me. As I was being prep for the ultrasound, my mind was focusing on the ultrasound monitor to reveal an egg.

Please let me have an egg! Please let me have an egg!

My thoughts were kind of distracted when the doctor started my ultrasound. I was looking at the monitor and I don’t know what was going on. There was this oval-shaped thing that the doctor was putting a line on and the picture would stop. Then she would probe again and if she sees a significant image, she would make another line and it will stop, like taking a photo or something. Then at last, she explained to me what the oval thing was and the other shape that she highlighted. It wasn’t sinking in because the doctor was talking nonsense to me.

“Blah, blah, blah, ova.”

Wait, did she just say OVA as in EGG?

Then she started explaining to me the other significant image that she highlighted which was my endometrium, as it was ready for fertilization.

The she said, “so today and for the next two days you and your husband should have contact because after the third day, the fertilized egg should be released in your endometrium.”

I was like, what?

Then I casually asked, “so doctor, I have an ova?” like it was a perfectly normal thing and haven’t undergone an emotional turmoil.

The doctor said, “yes, you have an ova and it’s ready to be fertilized.”

I feel like a specimen, or a plant.

After the ultrasound, the doctor told me she still needs to monitor my prolactin levels because in some cases when the medication stops, it rises again and it will not be good for bearing a child.

So basically, this is like, the good news first then the bad news.

My husband was totally clueless after my check-up because he didn’t understand all the medical terms that has been said. I just smiled and said, “I have an egg.”

And he was so happy like I just told him I’m pregnant.

Now I’m hoping and praying for this egg to be fertilized in three days. 😊

Leave a Reply

