Okay, So it’s Not Milk After All…

Today, I called the clinic to talk to the nurse about my blood result and the Doctor’s advice. As expected she forgot to call me back. When she learned that it was me on the line, she was surprised and told me, “oh, did I forget to call you?” I was fighting the urge to be sarcastic. But I kept my composure and tried to be as nice as possible. It was the second time that she forgot to call me back. I asked her what the doctor said. She told me, high Prolactin levels in the blood means a high possibility of infertility.

I kind of expected that. As much as I hate googling some medical problems, I did try looking up in the internet about high levels of Prolactin in the body and what it means before I called her. The terms, anovulation, amenorrhea, and infertility came out. My mind kept on denying it. Internet is a terrible place to look up about any medical problem. I want to hear it from the doctor herself. As soon as I heard from the nurse about what the doctor said, I was devastated. I can’t be infertile.

The nurse said the doctor left me a prescription to inhibit prolactin in my body. I called my husband right away to get the prescription for me. When I came home from work, I found the medicine lying in the dresser. It’s a very small bottle of medicine called Dostinex. It contains 2 tablets to be taken every 3 days. I took it right away after eating.

I really hope that medicine would normalize my prolactin levels. Right, and I thought I was already producing milk.

Leave a Reply

