Here or There?

I’ve been waiting for my US immigrant visa for 5 years now and I’m living/working in Abu Dhabi, UAE for more than 2 years. I’m still hoping that I can still get my US visa but now I’m having second thoughts.

Here in UAE, everything is tax-free. Well, except for the hotels, it’s not. We get our salary every month without any tax deductions. We can go home to our own country yearly, with free air fare. Food is cheap. There’s like, sale in every malls and stores every week. We can celebrate parties in hotels because we can afford it. The place is amazingly clean and the rules are strictly implemented. The only thing I don’t like is that, housings are very expensive. Not if you’re working in a government hospital, nurses can have their own flat, which is my present goal right now: application to a government hospital.

In US, well, I heard the nurses are paid well. They can have their own house and lot and the car of their choice. They can travel wherever they want. For me, it’s a perfect place to start a family.

I don’t know. All I know is that, right now, I’m enjoying my life in UAE.

Leave a Reply

