Living Together: How to Adjust (Marriage 101?)

We moved in to our new room (finally!) 3 days ago. It took some time before I got used to my new routine. I had to go back a couple of times to our room whenever I go to the bathroom or kitchen because I always forget something. I have to rummage on a pile of clothes/things just to find something that I know I have hidden somewhere. Instead of hitting the sack when I come home from work, I have to prepare dinner for my husband. Well, basically, I help him prepare dinner because he’s doing all the cooking mostly. Fine, I’ll learn how to cook. I just need some time to adjust. I used to do my laundry every 3 days, but now, it seems that I have to do it every other day because the dirty clothes seem to pile up high so fast. Oh, right, there are two of us now. Great.

The two of us in the kitchen, well, it’s not a good idea. I’m a neat freak wash-your-hands-before-touching-anything type of person. My stuffs are all organized that if something is misplaced, I’d know right away. “Wash your hands.” Don’t use that, it’s dirty!” “Not too much oil.” “Remove the skin, it’s too fatty!” etc. I know. I sounded like a terrible wife. Even in simple things like folding the clothes. I’d rather do it myself than let him fold all our clothes and then I have to do it all over again. Sometimes (well, most of the time, actually), I apologize for my behavior. He’s very supportive and understanding. I wonder how long it will last.

I love our new place. It’s like we’re the only people living here. When we’re talking, we’re planning on what to do on the weekend (when it’s my day off), what to cook, what activities to do. Sometimes, we’re discussing our attitudes, what he doesn’t like about me and what I don’t like about him. I casually told him, “Maybe we will fight a lot now that we’re together.” He said, “Of course we’ll fight. It’s very unnatural if we don’t.”But don’t make it a habit to fight with me always,” I said. “I’m not fighting with you,” he said. “Yes, you are!” I said. We sounded like kids. Or, is it just me? I feel like we’re just playing house. That we’re just pretending to be husband and wife.

I hate myself for even thinking about it, but I’m really wondering how long this will last. We’re still in the adjustment period. I need to cut us some slack.

2 thoughts on “Living Together: How to Adjust (Marriage 101?)

Leave a Reply

