Tying the Knot (Finally!)

I’m getting married. Yes, after 12 years of long distance relationship. I didn’t even think we’d survive that long. It wasn’t easy. But see, the universe has finally brought us together. Does that mean we really belong to each other?

I’m used to us being apart. Now, I’m still trying to get used to us being together. Let me tell you something. It ain’t easy.

Well, I’m used to having my own life. I can go out with my friends anytime I want to. I can go anywhere and do whatever I want. But I’m a good girl, yes I am. So I don’t think he has any problem with it. The same thing goes with him. So the adjustment of being together is a bit challenging, for me. I feel like I’m confining myself to him and I expect him to do the same.

Don’t get me wrong. I love being with him. It’s being apart after being together is what’s making it difficult for me. I’m scared to become the person I don’t want to be. I don’t want to become an obsessive wife. There are a lot of things I don’t wanna become. I just wanna become a good wife, is all.

But let’s not dwell on the intricacies of marriage life because that comes after the wedding. For now, planning a simple embassy wedding is my greatest concern.

We’re having a simple wedding. Just at the embassy. The original plan was that, after the wedding (since it’s Ramadan), Jess and I will just treat Gemma’s family to dinner at this classy restaurant and then we’ll go to Yas Hotel for the night. But since everybody at work knows I’m getting married, they seem to plan everything for me, like it’s already given that they’re all invited. Dilemma.

It’s hard to plan a simple embassy wedding all by myself. It didn’t even occur to me that I will have a hard time with it. All I thought was that, we’ll have a wedding date, appear at the embassy, get married, then it’s all done. We’re husband and wife.

Wrong.

We literally went to every gold store in every nook and corner of Abu Dhabi just to find a pair of wedding ring that we like, week after week, but found none. It’s either the ring doesn’t have a pair or one ring doesn’t fit. They don’t customize rings anymore and the reason the wedding rings doesn’t come in pair is because the Arabs just buy a single wedding ring or not at all. Wedding rings are not a part of their wedding customs. We also had a difficult time finding the right wedding ring because of the limited supply. As I’ve said, Arabs don’t usually buy wedding rings.

We finally decided to settle on a simple, plain, white gold wedding ring and had it engraved. Problem number 1 solved.

Next, we need to find wedding outfits. The Judge at the embassy said that the bride should wear white formal dress and for the groom, any formal suit would do. It’s very tiring to go from one mall to another and try all the white dresses that I lay my eyes on. Most of the white dresses that I found are either too summery, too lacy, too sexy, or too short. I just wanna give up and just wear anything. Heck, I could just wear my white uniform for all I care. Or wear jeans and Converse shoes. I could do that or risk being denied marriage by the Judge.

Finally, I found a nice dress in Promod, have it altered because the small size doesn’t fit. (I found this cute dress in the children’s section once but I’m too shy to try it on because I’ll be the only adult among a bunch of kids inside the dressing room and it would be too embarrassing so I dropped the dress and left). Jess found this dress shirt at Esprit that matches my dress and problem number 2 is solved.

But wait, I don’t have a pair of shoes to match my dress yet so I went to Aldo to look for the shoes that I liked but it was already gone. So I sat there exhausted and realized that I still have problem number 3 to deal with.

Now the biggest problem we’re facing right now would be the wedding reception. As I’ve mentioned before, we only planned on having an intimate dinner with Gemma’s family. But since all of my friends are expecting themselves to be invited, Jess and I decided it would be best if we book a restaurant for our wedding reception.

I don’t even have the slightest idea on where to book a wedding reception. I just want to have a casual dinner with all of our friends and have fun. If I could just book a bar where they serve good food, and booze, with videoke, it would be even better and way cooler than the traditional wedding receptions. But see, it’s Ramadan. Where am I supposed to find my idea of a fun after-wedding-party?

If I could just wear whatever clothes I’m comfortable with on my wedding day, then fly somewhere with my husband after the wedding, that would be super awesome. Then we don’t have to worry about pleasing everybody.

My wedding seems to be much more fun inside my head.

2 thoughts on “Tying the Knot (Finally!)

  1. Aaawww… You are getting married na talaga! Congrats! I think the after-wedding would indeed be a whole lot more fun, takas nalang kayo agad after the reception hehehe 😀

Leave a Reply

