Inside My Head: Random Thoughts of a Restless Girl

Twelve-hour/day work is really exhausting, especially if it’s straight day or straight night. So I really maximize my time on my days off.

Yesterday, I finally worked on my IELTS application, submitted it together with the requirements at the UK embassy, and scheduled an exam. Then I went to the mall to reward myself.

When I went home, I organized my review materials, did some chores, and wrote down the list of things that I’m planning to do.

Before sunset, I decided to run some laps. My endurance and stamina aren’t that strong anymore as I don’t run everyday like before. Since I lost 5 kg at the start of the year, I decided to mellow down and run only during my days off. I don’t need to lose more weight. I just needed to be fit. After 2 laps, I was thinking if I should go home or continue to run 1 more lap. I’ve decided to run another lap. That’s when I saw my roommate M getting ready to run as well. I was so delighted to see her getting in shape. So we ran together towards the beach (well, she easily gets tired so we basically just walked and talked). After an hour, we decided to go home. But before that we ordered some juice at this fancy restaurant right in the middle of the park.

When we reached home, C and S were drinking Red Horse beer while munching on Calamares. I asked what’s the occasion. S just laughed and told me she just wanted her menstruation to come out and asked C to join her. Well, almost every (Filipino) girl I know have this belief that if  you want to have a heavier menstruation, you should drink beer. I don’t know where they got that crazy idea but frankly, I don’t care. They can believe whatever it is they wanted to believe. So I said, “Really? Well, I’ll put that to test. I know I’m going to have my period anytime this week. I want to see if it will come tomorrow (Haha!).” M and I shared one tall can and S turned on her videoke and we started singing. S will be leaving us this month so we make it a point to bond every chance we get.

The next morning (as expected), I still haven’t got my period (as I’m regularly irregular). I asked S if her period got heavier this time and she said yes. Well, I guess it’s a case to case basis (yeah, right!).

After tidying up our room, I went to the grocery store to buy some ingredients (as I’m going to cook my 3 day meal). I’m learning to cook (and becoming independent). 😉 I know, there are certain things that I needed to learn in order to survive. Back home (Philippines), I don’t need to do anything. After work, I have food, my clothes have been washed and ironed, and all I have to do is rest. But now, all I can depend on is myself. I’m actually enjoying every moment (though at times I really miss being home). When I think about it, I feel so proud of myself.

I’m starting to save up. I send money to the Philippines straight to my savings account (aside from my savings account here in AD). I really don’t like buying all the latest gadgets and other stuff (although sometimes I have the urge to buy). My reason is, I have to find a way to get rid of the old (but still functioning) stuffs that I have before I decide to replace it with a new one. Otherwise, I’m just collecting junks I have no use of. But don’t get me wrong. I’m also a spendthrift. Sometimes I surprise myself from buying something so expensive that I wasn’t able to think about it. An impulsive buyer. After that Tsunami that hit Japan, I realized I don’t need a lot of things (I can get by with nothing.) 😉

I have nothing more to say. 😉

Leave a Reply

