A Day When the Girl Decided to Move Out

I just had this sudden idea to move out of my present flat and look for another one near Gemma’s place. So I called Gemma if she knows someone who rents a flat at a reasonable price. My present flat is a bit expensive. But I love the place. Let me tell you why:

1. It is situated in the heart of the city.

2. At the back of our building, there’s a public park where I (used to) jog everyday.

3. Across the street (after the park) is the beach.

4. It is surrounded by hospitals, grocery stores, hotels, coffee shops, restaurants, outlet stores (Adidas, Nike, Next, etc.)

5. Accessible to taxis and buses.

6. Malls are practically just around the corner.

7. Most important of all, it’s near my hospital bus ride.

So why the sudden need to change?

I told Gemma what I’m paying for the rent is too much. I want to be able to save more money. But at the back of my mind, I want a change of scenery. C and I, we’re not talking anymore and I don’t even know why. We didn’t even had a fight or even a slight misunderstanding. We just grew apart. I never knew that it could happen. When she’s around, I can feel the tension as no one is speaking to the other. I just thought that, maybe one of us needs to go. I figured, since I’m used to being alone, I might as well find another place and adjust to new room mates/flat mates. Besides, if I live near Gemma’s flat, I can go there anytime especially if I feel homesick.

So I met Gemma after work to check out her friend’s flat. At the lobby alone are too many tenants waiting for the elevator. When we reached the floor of her friend’s flat, I saw a lot of laundry in this makeshift clothes hanger/dryer in the hallway. Inside the flat, it looks like a prison. I was hesitant to go inside but just to be polite, Gemma and I went in and (I) just pretended to be interested. After that, we went to the other floor of that same building to check another room vacancy. But I still got the same view.

When we were leaving the building, Gemma told me that if I’m looking for a cheaper room, I will definitely get a dirty and crowded one. She said for just a small (price) difference, she’d prefer my room over the rooms we’ve been to. I couldn’t agree more.

So I thanked her and bid goodbye. I said I will try to visit them one of these days (before their vacation to the Philippines this end of February). I’ve been busy spending my days off fixing my life (or rather, trying to).

I went back to my flat thinking about a lot of things. When I reached our building, the more I appreciated my surroundings. Walking in the hallway towards our flat, I felt comfort. When I opened the door, I felt at home. When I entered our room, my room mates all greeted me asking where I’ve been and why I’m home so late. I almost felt I’ve been missed, haha. So I jokingly told them, “you’re not the only ones who have a date!” and they all laughed. I truly felt that I’m home.

That night when I laid down in bed, I was thankful of my comfortable bed, my comfortable little corner, my cabinet and all my things, my room mates, my flat mates…I find comfort here, even if C and I aren’t talking anymore. But I guess I can live with that. I realized one thing though, friends aren’t permanent. They just come and go.

Leave a Reply

