Living the Life

I welcomed 2011 with a certain degree of profound discipline. I started to run regularly (from 15 minutes to 1 hour everyday), whether it’s my day off or work day. Being exhausted from work did not prevent me from running. In fact, running after work hours kind of give me the boost in uplifting my mood and relaxing my body. I began to work out (just some tummy exercises because that’s where most of my stored fat comes from). About the food, well, I try to moderate what I eat. I eat what I want to eat but my rule is: no eating at night. That rule was put to test when I had my night duty. I made sure to eat plenty during the day so I won’t get hungry during the night but then I guess when you’re awake (or trying to stay awake), your stomach sends confusing messages to your brain’s hunger center that it needs to eat. So I that’s when I give in. I mean, why not? The more you prevent yourself from eating, the more hungry you become and the end result would be eating more than what is needed. So I changed my strategy and tried to eat small portions of food and then drink lots of water. I don’t follow any particular diet regimen because it gets frustrating when you can’t follow it religiously. So I try to develop my own weight loss plan that I can stick to. As long as you know the basics about food and exercise then I guess you can never go wrong. So far I never went back to more than 50 kg and that’s good enough for a 5-feet (tall) girl like me. I’m not doing this to lose more weight. I’m doing this so I won’t gain weight. If I become thinner, I’d look older.

Aside from keeping myself fit and healthy, I started to rekindle my interest in watching TV series. I downloaded all of the TV series worth watching and watch as many episodes as I can during my day off. My books are still there, and I read when I’m not watching. And yes, my eyesight is working perfectly. You may think I have a boring life but this is the way I enjoy spending my time. I’m in between indoorsy and outdoorsy type of person who doesn’t socialize much but prefers a small crowd I can be comfortable around with. I still go out with my friends like everybody does. We go to places, hang out, eat out, have fun, but those things doesn’t define how I live my life.

I have paid all my debts in 2010, and in the beginning of 2011, my bank account is now happy. Delaying my gratification truly paid off.

With regards to how life treats me, I learned how to bend to difficulties and accept the things as it present itself. It’s still hard but isn’t it supposed to be that way?

My checklist is almost complete. My career is still hanging on a thin rope and I still have no idea where I’m going but I know it has a strong possibility that everything will finally fall into place. And my so-called love life, well, it’s finally happening…:-)

This has been my life away from home. And I think I’m doing a pretty good job. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

