The Slit Lamp

May 25, 2006

Today, while studying about the eye, I came across a diagnostic procedure called slit lamp and then suddenly remembered something funny and embarrassing at the same time.

 

I had this chalazion in my right eye when I came back from Saipan four years ago. It looked awful that I went to my ophthalmologist to have it removed. As he was examining my eye, he led me to the slit lamp area to have a further view. As I sat down in front of the slit lamp, the doctor gestured something, in which, based on my understanding, I took it as resting my right eye in the depressed area he pointed. It was my first time to have my eye examined and I didn’t know what to expect. I felt awkward in my position and was wondering if I was doing the right thing. Then I heard the doctor chuckle and said, “Your chin should be resting there not your eye.”

That was soooo embarrassing…

Hey, what do I know? All I know is that I’m having my eye examined, not my chin…sheesh!

Stupid doctor…

Leave a Reply

