The Wandering Mind

March 3, 2006

I might as well write since my concentration is dwindling.

It’s funny how many students in my class are sleeping. I’m not sleepy, but my concentration is low. I always have a very short attention span. I don’t even notice how my brain shuts off and fly away to a different place.

I remember a very funny and embarrassing incident I had when I was in Isabela. Back home, you are obliged to go to Mass whether you like it or not. And Mom even wants to go to a 7 a.m.mass because it’s in English. But anyway, we attended the 8 a.m.mass, which is in Ilocano. We (our family) always sits in front. That time, there were only the three of us: me, my younger sister, and my Mom. I don’t know how my mind drifts away that easily. My body is literally present, but my mind is absent, and I don’t even do it on purpose. But somehow, my consciousness obeys its surroundings. Like, when the priest says stand, I’ll stand. And when he says sit, I’ll sit (just like a trained dog). That time, I was too oblivious of my surroundings that I didn’t know what was happening. I just felt my Mom and my sister tapping me. When I turned to look, they were both looking at me as if trying to suppress a laugh. It took a long time for me to realize that I was the only person standing. And to think we were even sitting in front! I felt really, really embarrassed that I sat slowly and didn’t look at anyone, who were probably laughing at that time. I felt my face flushed and I was pinching Mom’s hand for not telling me to sit right away. Mom and my sister couldn’t breathe for suppressing a laugh. I could even see Mom’s tears as she was laughing uncontrollably. Mom said she was wondering why I was still standing and it didn’t occur to her to call my attention until my sister asked my Mom why I was still standing. And she was still laughing as if it was the funniest thing in the world. I never heard the end of it.

So much for my wandering mind…

Leave a Reply

