Types of Reviewees

I wrote this blog post when I was still reviewing for the NCLEX-RN exam. 🙂

March 3, 2006

I got distracted by a bunch of giggly girls next to my table and it inspired me to write something about them. When you go to a review center, you meet different kinds of people but you can always find the same types of people, if you get what I mean.

Let me categorize the different reviewees you usually find in a review center:

Echolalia – in medical terms, it means repetition of words. Originally coined by my friend Mizhael, this is the reviewee that I hate the most. When a lecturer is talking, an echolalia person either repeats what the lecturer is saying, fills in the missing word, or answers loudly just to show the other reviewees that he/she knows the answer.

Example:

Lecturer: “These signs and symptoms tell us that the patient is experiencing hemolytic reaction.”

Echolalia: “Reaction!”

Lecturer: “And we should immediately stop the blood transfusion.”

Echolalia: “Transfusion!”

Lecturer: (now telling a story) “Nagpunta ako sa tindahan…”

Echolalia: “Tindahan!”

You would think you’re attending a kindergarten class and not a review class…

Circle of friends – these are reviewees who often plan to enroll in a review center together and do nothing but talk. You would often see them in circles giggling around (just like the girls next to my table). I mean, there’s nothing wrong if you talk AFTER the review. It’s a different thing when you talk DURING the review. It’s really irritating to see a bunch of giggly girls who whispers (gee, thanks…) stories to each other while you’re trying to study. One particular girl wasn’t satisfied standing around while whispering to this other girl that she grabbed a nearby chair and stayed there to chat.

“Bzzz…bzzz…hihihi! Bzz…bzz…bzz…hihihi!”

Note: When planning to enroll in a review center, enroll alone. That way you can make the most out of your time.

Photocopier – these are the reviewees who don’t write anything at all. After the class, he/she will approach a classmate to borrow notes and have it photocopied. This is the reviewee that my friend Mizhael hates. Wise move! But don’t you think you’re being a parasite? Nobody cares if you don’t want to write. If you think you’re smart enough to write, then you have to deal with not having any notes and just rely on your sponge-like brain.

Buy-the-book syndrome – these are the reviewees who tries to buy all the review materials they can find even if they don’t read it. Buying all the review material gives the reviewee a sense of security. I’m guilty of this one. But I make sure that once I buy a book, I will read it. I’m telling you now, buy only the materials that you can read. It’s a waste of money to pile up on review materials you won’t have time to read. I bet you wouldn’t even remember a single thing once you’re done reading a book.

So far, these are the reviewees familiar to me that I have categorized. I’m sure there are still other types of reviewees out there whom you will encounter and irritate you once in a while. But don’t let them bother you. Just think that all of your hard works and the dedication to study harder will pay off once you pass your big exam. Plus, you also have to think of the friends you meet in your class, who helped you a lot in boosting your confidence.

Leave a Reply

